If the seat price is closer to $20, on a 100-seat deal we are talking about a one-third revenue loss.
$2000 x 20% = $400 - split to Partner is $320
If the split is 70/30 or 50/50, the SPIFF is the spotlight.
Even at 70/30 on a $2000 ARPU deal, $280 is a small monthly stipend.
Folks begin to wonder if it is worth the ordeal.
I am being generous with a 20% commission to the master agency. Network is lower. UC may be higher or lower. SPIFFs come and go; up and down.
The question is: Can a Partner live off of your product line?
If not, then your importance declines.